Takin’ Care of Stuff

June 2, 2011 at 6:10 am 6 comments

Heey! I’ve been a bad blogger recently………tests have really been taking up a lot of time! So sorry! I’m finishing my LAST final today, so I should be back to my normal bloggin’ self soon!

So, my mom had to go on a week-long trip to resolve some mission stuff. She’ll be back on Tuesday, so in the meantime, my sister and I are doing a lot of the stuff that she normally does. Like for example, did you know that here you have to sweep and mop every day? Well, you do. And we don’t use dishwashers or drying machines, which means that dishes are handwashed and clothes are hung out to dry. I don’t really mind doing these things, especially since I don’t really have a full workload of school. To me, being productive beats sitting around being bored! :D Except for when it comes to cleaning bathrooms……which is my least favorite chore!! What is your least favorite thing to do around the house? 

One thing that I do love to do is cook. I was going to make a soup last night, but the chicken broth that we had was homemade, and wasn’t edible any more, so we created a plan B. Dad ordered a steak from a restaurant up the street, and we had leftover rice, beans and pasta. I also made some biscuits to go with our meal. It was a super-simple and quick recipe, which is great because I had less than 30 minutes to whip them together! :D

Dinner Biscuits (from Taste of Home)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • Half-and-half cream or milk, optional
  • Butter and/or honey

Directions

  • In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt. Combine milk and oil; pour over dry ingredients and stir just until moistened.
  • Turn onto a floured surface; knead 5-6 times. Roll out to 1/2-in. thickness; cut with a floured 2-in. biscuit cutter. Place on a greased baking sheet.
  • Brush tops with cream if desired. Bake at 425° for 13-15 minutes or until golden brown. Serve warm with butter and/or honey. Yield: 6 biscuits.

I actually only ended up with 5 biscuits, but they were delicious and fluffy. Plus, a quick way to round out our meal!

I’ve been loving going to my Wednesday spinning class, however yesterday the teacher couldn’t make it. I ended up spending some quality time on the treadmill…..watching CSI! haha It was the only way I could have possibly stayed on there, and I didn’t have my cardio circuit workout written down with me. Do you have any staple cardio circuits? If so, please share!!!

Well, I should get goin’ on the studying!

See ya’ tomorrow!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Wrong Test Breathe.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tiff  |  June 2, 2011 at 6:26 am

    Congrats on finishing up those finals. Must feel good to be done!

    Reply
  • 3. yummychunklet  |  June 2, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Can’t wait to make these dinner biscuits. But, as a reward, I’ll bake them while I perform my least favorite chore which is de-linting my couches and bed/pillows from the cat hair. (My sister owns two cats.)

    Reply
  • 4. Erica  |  June 3, 2011 at 8:05 am

    I really enjoy most cleaning. Not a huge fan of dusting- feels so pointless, but you can really see when you DON’T do it!! mmm love biscuits! Enjoy your weekend

    Reply
  • 5. lindsay  |  June 3, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    good luck on your last final girl. You can do it!

    Reply
  • 6. Lisa  |  June 4, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    Mmmm…biscuits :)

    I don’t like cleaning anything, but I think dusting is my least fave. Ick!

    My staple cardio is a long brisk walk—I love it, and it helps me not have the “calorie burn” mindset. Instead, I think about enjoying myself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

