On the Road to Texarkana and a more Serious Topic

December 9, 2010 at 7:26 am 6 comments

Hey ya’ll!!!!!

I’m headed to meet up with my aunt, uncle, and cousin in Texarkana (the Texas side)! Haven’t seen them in forever, so I’m really looking forward to it!!!!

Oh, my mom’s friend went home yesterday!!! She is still healing, but is doing better! =D

So anyway, I’ve got 5 hours in the car to look forward to. Mom says I should take tests to study for, so I’m now trying to come up with something else that is productive but doesn’t involve tests!!!! =D Hmmm…any ideas????

I have absolutely no inspiration for this post……guess I needed more sleep! =P So I hope you all don’t mind ramblings on nothingness…..because you may just get that! =D

You know what? I’m gonna write about something serious. Because that’s what you do when your tired, obviously. Sleepiness is the state in which your best thinking is done! =D

Anyway, I want to address today’s society’s relationship with food. There are really two sides to it. On one hand, you have people who turn to food for everything, and on the other, you have those who avoid it like the plague. Then, there are those who insist that you must live according to a certain diet plan, and if you don’t, well then, you are wrong and completely unhealthy. Something that I have learned so far in my journey to well-being is that everyone is different and functions better on different diets. Personally, I feel my best when I eat most of my carbs in the morning, and my percentages look about like 40% carbs, 30% protein, and 30% fats. But there are some who feel better on a low-carb, high-protein diet, or a high-fat diet, among others. Some can adopt a vegetarian or vegan lifestyle, while others may feel sluggish without a source of animal protein. It is all very relative, and in my opinion, it is wrong to try to force a certain “diet” on others.

As for the disordered relationships with food, I believe that both overeating and anorexia are a growing part of the struggles that we deal with in society. People either turn to food for comfort, or take comfort in the fact that they can resist it. Extreme behavior in either direction is extremely unhealthy and hurts not only the one person, but also their friends and family. I speak from experience. I think that all of what I have talked about has made me develop a true passion for living what really is a healthy lifestyle, and to teach others how to do so. I believe that everyone has different nutritional needs, and also that if you want that brownie or ice cream cone, go for it! Life is too short to cut out stuff you love!!!!!

For more on nutritional relativism, check out this post:

http://theflourishingfoodie.wordpress.com/2010/12/05/nutritional-relativism-chocolate-chip-cookies-and-guest-posts/

Sorry about the uber-long post, I guess being tired really does result in deeper thinking. =D

What are your opinions on this topic? Agree or disagree??? Please comment below!

On a lighter note, this weekend commences the Healthy Chocoholic Christmas baking extravaganza!!!! Whoooo!

Stay happy!!

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

I Found It!!!!!!! Disappearing Act

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  December 9, 2010 at 7:57 am

    I think the biggest problem is the way our society deal with emotional and mental health, and treats it as secondary to physical health. Food issues are just one of many issues that stem from emotional and mental health difficulties – drugs, alcohol, self-injury, and many other problems come from the same root. We truly need to develop a better approach to treating mental illnesses comprehensively and stop shaming people into hiding their illnesses, which are just as real as physical illnesses.

    What’ the plan for the baking extravaganza? What are you making?

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  December 9, 2010 at 2:38 pm

      I completely agree with you!!!!
      Baking extravaganza will include homemade thin mints, chocolate cobbler, meringues, peppermint bark, chocolate fudge cookies, peanut butter cookies, candy cane cookies, truffles, and more!!!!

      Reply
  • 5. theflourishingfoodie  |  December 9, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Whooo!! Thanks for the ping-back! I absolutely agree with everything you said! Great post! Can’t wait to hear about your baking extravaganza 🙂

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  December 10, 2010 at 9:21 am

      No problem!!!!!
      Thanks so much! =D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


