Whoohoo!!!!!

December 12, 2010 at 7:30 am 10 comments

Can you tell I’m happy????

The thin mints were a success!!!!!

Here’s the recipe I used (from Cakespy):

Cookies:

2 and 1/4 cups flour

1/4 cup cornstarch

6 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 tsp salt (I used  less, and didn’t notice a taste difference)

1 C sugar (I used the full amount this time, but I could definitely reduce it in the future)

1/2 C butter (I used a “light” butter because that’s what was in the fridge)

1/3 C milk of any kind

1/2 tsp vanilla extract (could be omitted)

3/4 tsp peppermint extract (More or less depending on preference)

For chocolate coating:

10 oz dark or semi-sweet chocolate (I used semi-sweet chips)

1/2 C butter

  1. Whisk together flour, cornstarch, salt, and cocoa.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar. With mixer on low speed, add milk and extracts. Gradually add in flour mixture until fully incorporated.
  3. Shape dough into two even logs, wrap in plastic wrap, and freeze for at least an hour and a half. The longer you freeze the dough, the easier it is to cut.
  4. Preheat oven to 375.
  5. Remove dough from freezer. Slice into rounds. For a more “thin mint” texture, make sure that the rounds are no thicker than 1/4 inch. They won’t spread very much, so you can place them closer together on a lined baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 13-15 minutes, remove from oven and set on a wire rack until cooled.
  7. Melt butter and chocolate together in a medium saucepan. It will make a nice, thick chocolate sauce. Drop in cookies, turn with a fork to coat with chocolate. If the sauce begins to harden, you can heat it up until its back to the right consistency.
  8. Place dipped cookies onto parchment paper, and let cool until chocolate hardens.

Note: The dough is incredibly thick, and I ended up not even using the mixer while adding the flour mixture to the butter-sugar mixture. I kneaded it pizza-style, and trust me, if you do the same, you can call it your workout for the day. The next morning, you’ll have arms so toned that Madonna will be green with envy! =D

Makes about 40 smallish cookies.

I wish my cookies looked this good… at least they’re yummy!!!!

So besides baking, yesterday I took one test and studied for another. Then we went to our friend’s house, and brought some cookies with us!!!! This is the same friend that recently had surgery, and she’s doing really well!!!!!

Today, its super-duper cold outside (like 17 degrees) and I’m really dreading getting out!!!! But, we’re going to church, so its not like its something unimportant or anything…=P.

What has been your favorite thing that you’ve baked recently?

Hope ya’ll  have a wonderful Sunday!!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Disappearing Act Freedom is Close!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  December 12, 2010 at 7:49 am

    Very cool – isn’t it so much fun when a recipe turns out just right?

    Reply
  • 3. Erica  |  December 12, 2010 at 8:08 am

    SO glad they turned out well! We need a picture!! I think its warmed up a bit here today…but I haven’t been outside yet. Josh and I are headed to the gym soon then I’m delivering cookies to a few friends.

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  December 12, 2010 at 1:57 pm

      I wish I could post a picture…..my camera died an untimely death not too long ago and I haven’t replaced it yet…. =(

      Reply
  • 5. Heather Eats Almond Butter  |  December 12, 2010 at 11:47 am

    Thin Mints are my favorite! Well, actually it’s a tie between those and Samoas. OK, so that’s a lie. I love all Girl Scout cookies! 😉

    So glad the recipe was a success – I’d never thought to make my own.

    Hope you enjoyed church. Stay warm and best of luck on your test.

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  December 12, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      I love all of those cookies, too!!!!! I don’t have any really sharp knives, so I couldn’t cut mine quite as thin as original Thin Mints, but they were still tasty!!! =D
      Thanks! You stay warm, too!!!!

      Reply
  • 7. Courtney's Sweets  |  December 12, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Mmm I love thin mints. Yeah I’m sure I couldn’t get it to look like that.
    I am sure they taste amazing!!

    Reply
  • 9. sheila @ Elements  |  January 13, 2011 at 12:57 am

    I’d like to make these sometime. I adore thin mints! Glad they turned out good for you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


