Cookin’ and Workin’ Out

December 16, 2010 at 7:38 am 9 comments

 Morning everyone!! Thanks for all your fun comments about being short! I loved reading them!!!!

So I’m going to do some new workouts this morning, and the 10 minut bootcamp that’s on my workout page already.

Here are the links to the new vids:

Cardio Sculpting:

http://www.exercisetv.tv/workout-videos/cardio/cardio-sculpting-7197

Cardio Core:

http://www.exercisetv.tv/workout-videos/cardio/cardio-core-5621

As ya’ll can probably see, my workout is going to be a little more cardio than usual, but I think that both of these videos incorporate strength training, which is good. Especially the Cardio Sculpting one. I read the reviews and apparently I’ve got a lot of squats and lunges in my near future. I’ll tell ya’ll how it went tomorrow!

Seeing as today is a workout day, I have an exercise-related question for ya’ll: What do you eat before and after a workout?

Personally, I always workout in the mornings, but I don’t like working out on an empty stomach. So I’ll have a filling but lighter breakfast, like today I had instant grits (butter flavor), orange juice and coffee with 1 scoop of Aria protein powder. Afterwards, I’ll have a nice sized snack, usually something with plenty of protein. But I want ya’ll’s opinions on the matter! =D

I cooked last niiiight (with my mom!)!!! We made turkey burgers, with baked fries, and steam-in-the bag veggies in cheese sauce. Doesn’t sound like a whole lot of food, but believe me, it was filling!!! We had never made turkey burgers before, but I had read that they need extra seasoning, so we used pepper, seasoning salt, and diced onions in the patties to add flavor to them. They turned out delicious!!!!!  Later, I also tried my new favorite yogurt (besides greek yogurt!). It was the Archer Farms Honey Almond Yogurt, and it was really tasty. I was surprised that the ingredient list was relatively short as well, and had actual honey listed.

Here’s where I bought it! =D

Well, I did take one of the tests that I had yesterday, and will take the other one today and tomorrow, and then I’ll be done with school! =D

Have a wonderful Thursday!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

I Got Tricked. First Ever Guest Post!!!!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  December 16, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    I also work out (swim) most mornings, and it is very important to eat beforehand, otherwise, your body could begin breaking down muscles for fuel (ouch!). I usually scramble up 1/2 c eggbeaters and eat half a piece of fruit before swimming, and the other half of the piece of fruit after to replenish glycogen stores. You want some protein and carbohydrate beforehand for sure.

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  December 16, 2010 at 4:36 pm

      Thanks for the tips!!! I was doing something similar, but wanted to make sure that my routine was correct! =D

      Reply
      • 3. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  December 17, 2010 at 8:03 am

        If you are working with a nutritionist, be sure to consult them for advice – it is very individual and some people can eat more before working out in the morning. I personally can’t most days and have to instead defer some of it until post-workout.

      • 4. fitchocoholic  |  December 17, 2010 at 8:13 am

        Right. I have to eat something before working out, I’m not someone who can exercise on an empty stomach. Tried that once and passed out. Not good. But, if I eat too much, I feel sluggish….sooo I have to find a balance between the two extremes.

      • 5. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  December 17, 2010 at 12:11 pm

        I think that is pretty typical – not as much an issue for those who work out in the evening because their glycogen stores aren’t depleted from not eating for 7-8 hours (while sleeping).

  • 6. Courtney  |  December 17, 2010 at 6:39 am

    Mmm baked fries sound awesome!
    For me I eat a power bar/granola bar before work out for the carbs (energy) and then after I pack in some protein 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Erica  |  December 17, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    What I eat before and after workouts depends on the workout type. If its cardio, I usually get an upset stomach if I eat much before. I usually go for half an apple or half a slice of bread. I have a SERIOUSLY sensitive tummy. Before weights workout, bread and a little nut butter. After workouts- maybe a protein shake or meal (depending on the time of day) baked fries? Sounds awesome!

    Reply
    • 9. fitchocoholic  |  December 17, 2010 at 3:39 pm

      Cool!! Thanks!!!
      The baked fries are awesome!! You just toss sliced potatoes in some oil and whatever seasoning you want and bake at 420 for about 5 minutes on each side. Soo good!! =D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


