Some of my Thoughts

January 14, 2011 at 6:04 am 2 comments

     I still haven’t taken any new pictures, so I decided that this post would be about something that is very important to me: living a healthy and active lifestyle without going overboard about it. Been there, done that, lost too much weight.

I think that it is definitely important, as well as interesting, to learn how what we eat affects the way that we feel. However, it is definitely possible to take a “healthy lifestyle” way too far. I’m a perfectionist, so when I decided that I was going to start making healthier choices, I also decided to become the “healthiest” person around. By which I mean that I allowed myself next to no junk food, worked out constantly, and basically made myself and everyone around me miserable. Its amazing how what one person is feeling can affect what everyone else around them feels. Sometimes, we don’t even realize this until afterwards, because, as they say, hindsight is 20/20.

Most of you already know the result of my so-called healthy lifestyle: I lost too much weight and became obsessed about food. In other words, I developed an eating disorder. I’m still fighting it today, although I feel so much better about myself already, I definitely have more difficult moments.

I think that it is so important for people who are beginning their journey towards a healthy lifestyle to remember that this means not only to eat nutritious foods and to exercise, but also to let yourself indulge on a daily basis. Denying yourself of anything will only make you miserable. I speak from experience!!!!

What do you have to add to today’s topic????

Sorry about the seriousness of today’s post, but this was something that God has really laid on my heart to talk more about.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Its Waaaarm! Ministry Cookout

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  January 14, 2011 at 7:47 am

    My thought is that an indulgence is best if it *isn’t* junk food – but you need to be clear about what you consider junk food. Potoato chips – probably junk food. Dark chocolate or high-quality Swiss cheese? High in calories, but not JUNK food.

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  January 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm

      Exactly. Dark chocolate to me is not junk because of the antioxidants, plus it tastes good. And I actually like it better than milk chocolate, although I wouldn’t usually turn down ANY type of chocolate! =D
      Anyway, you are what you eat, and if you stuff yourself with things that possess no nutritional value whatsoever, you’ll feel like crap. But its important to let yourself go every once in a while, so that you don’t feel deprived.
      Sorry about the super long comment!!!! =P

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


