Baking, baking, baking…

January 16, 2011 at 9:37 am 6 comments

Guess what I did this morning? Baked banana and banana chocolate chip muffins for breakfast for my family!!! I also made some ham, cheese and veggie omelets!!!!! I made the muffins first, though, while everyone else was sleeping, and then, when people woke up, I mixed some eggs with some milk and made the omelets. We also had some acerola and tangerine juice and coffee. Acerola is a barbados cherry and it has like 10 times more vitamin C than orange juice does! Plus it tastes soooo good!!!!!! There’s a little snack place close by that makes fresh juices, and one of my favorites is an orange, tangerine, acerola mix with just a squirt of lemon juice!

Acerola!

 But anyway, back to breakfast. The muffins were a hit!

Here’s my recipe:

2 cups flour (I used all-purpose white, but if you try these with another type of flour, let me know how they turn out)

1 cup sugar (once again, I used white, but I think that these would be great with at least some brown sugar!)

1 cup mashed ripe banana (the softer and browner the better…just don’t use rotten! :D)

1/2 cup butter

6 tbsp milk

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp ground cinnamon (I’d add more next time)

1/2 tsp salt

In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.

Cream together butter and sugar in another bowl. Add one egg at a time to the butter mixture, stirring well after each addition. Stir in milk and banana, mix well.

Gradually add flour mixture to the wet ingredients until combined.

Fill muffin tins about 2/3 of the way full.

Bake at 350 degrees F 20-25 minutes or until you can insert a toothpick into the middle and it comes out clean.

I got 12 regular sized muffins and 8 mini muffins. I also split the batter in half, and made some plain banana muffins and stirred some milk chocolate chips in the other half of the batter. You could also probably use pb chips or white choc chips or really anything you want!

If anyone tries this, please let me know how you liked the recipe!!!!

So, we’re going to spend the rest of the afternoon hanging out at home, and then there’s church tonight!

Hope you all are having an awesome weekend!!!!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Ministry Cookout Back to School

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lindsay  |  January 16, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    your family is so lucky to have a daughter that cooks good food for them!
    Have a great sunday.

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  January 16, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      What else am I going to do at 6 AM when no one else is up? 🙂 Plus I enjoy everything that I make, too!
      Hope you have an awesome Sunday!

      Reply
  • 3. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com  |  January 16, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    Can I be a part of your fam….I bet you make them so happy everyday. Omelets and muffins….that is the best breakfast ever. I will be trying that muffin recipe so thanks in advance. Glad you carry food in your purse too ha!

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  January 16, 2011 at 2:57 pm

      It was a good recipe!! And we have awesome, fresh bananas!!!!!
      I was going through my purse before we traveled to clean it out, and I found saltines, energy bars, chocolate wrappers, and a bunch of other stuff!!!! =D

      Reply
  • 5. Erica  |  January 17, 2011 at 6:46 am

    Thanks for the congrats 🙂 What a great daughter you are! Nothing beats a good banana muffin (in my book). Happy Monday

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  January 17, 2011 at 8:32 am

      😀
      Happy Monday to you, too!!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


