Bagels!

January 19, 2011 at 6:52 am 14 comments

I made bagels last night!!!And I don’t really even like them that much! I just got bored and knew that my mom and sister love them. I mean, doesn’t everyone bake when they get bored? Or is it just me? hahahaha

Anyway, they turned out alright, I just have to remember to bake them longer the first time that they’re in the oven. Bagel-making is a strange process because you broil them for like 4 minutes, boil them for 7, and broil again for about 30 minutes. So anyway, here’s the recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water (110 degrees)
  • 2 pkgs dry yeast
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 2 tbsp salt
  • 4 cups bread flour (up to 1 cup can be whole wheat flour for a nice flavor)

In a large mixing bowl combine 2 cups of the flour and the yeast. Add the water, sugar, and salt. Beat with an electric mixer on low to medium speed for 30 seconds. Beat on high speed for 3 minutes. Using a wooden spoon, stir in as much of the remaining flour as you can.

Turn dough onto floured surface. Knead in enough of the remaining flour to make a moderately stiff dough that is smooth and elastic (6 to 8 minutes total). Divide dough into 12 portions and shape into smooth balls. Cover dough and let rest for 10 minutes.

Working quickly, punch a hole in the center of each ball. Pull center of dough gently and evenly to make a 2-inch hole. Place on lightly greased baking sheet; cover and let rise 20 minutes (start timing after the first bagel is shaped).

While bagels are still rising, in a 12-inch skillet bring 6 cups of water to boiling. Preheat broiler.

Broil bagels 5 inches from heat 3 to 4 minutes, turning once (tops should not brown). Turn off broiler; preheat oven to 375 degree F.

Lower 6 bagels, 1 at a time, into boiling water. Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, for 7 minutes, turning once.

Remove bagels with slotted spatula; set on paper towels. Repeat with remaining bagels.

Sprinkle clean baking sheet with semolina or cornmeal. Place bagels on baking sheet. Bake in a 375 degree F oven for 25 minutes or until golden. Cool on a wire rack. Makes 12 bagels.

Here’s a pic of my bagels in the oven:

I actually halved the recipe, but instead of 6 bagels, I ended up with 4:

two chocolate chip and two plain.

And here’s my cat, headed towards the kitchen:

Give me bagel!!!!

So, in other news, thank ya’ll so much for the support of yesterday’s post! I fully intend to meet my goals!!!!! =D

Well, I guess I had better be off……school calls my name!

What’s your favorite type of bagel?

Any good bread recipes that you want to share?

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

I will… Can’t make up my mind….

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  January 19, 2011 at 7:25 am

    oww! I’ve never made bagels but I’ve always wanted to try! My favorite bread recipes are on the favorites tab of Itzy’s Kitchen. I can’t get enough carbs 😉

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  January 19, 2011 at 9:36 am

      Its pretty fun!!!!!
      I’ll go check out the recipes now! Carbs are definitely my favorite food group….I’ve been known to down a bowl of oatmeal with a side of an english muffin! =D

      Reply
  • 3. alex  |  January 19, 2011 at 9:49 am

    congrats on bagels! I am a little inimidated to make those!!

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  January 19, 2011 at 11:15 am

      They were a little weird to make….but apparently worth it because my family liked them!

      Reply
  • 5. Jenn L @ Peas and Crayons  |  January 19, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    awww! such a cute cat! =) mine totally eats the cream cheese off my bagels when i’m not looking!

    I should totally make some! yum!

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  January 19, 2011 at 3:39 pm

      hahaha that sounds like something that my cat would do!!!!!
      If you make them, tell me how they turn out, please! =D

      Reply
  • 7. alex  |  January 20, 2011 at 5:21 am

    btw- Grasshopper cupcakes are basically a chocolate mint cupcake…but there always has to be green in it to be a grasshopper kind…lol they could just call it mint…the name grasshopper really grosses me out sometimes haha

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  January 20, 2011 at 8:52 am

      Yeah I know….and I looove mint choc-chip! Its just that sometimes the ratio of mint to chocolate is off……too much mint overpowers the yummy chocolate! =D
      It is a crappy name, though….wonder where it came from?

      Reply
  • 9. Kristina @ Life as Kristina  |  January 20, 2011 at 6:33 am

    You made bagels? I’m envious-I don’t think i’d ever even try-lol…Love the cat pic-that’s how my dog is…always creepin for the good stuff!

    Reply
    • 10. fitchocoholic  |  January 20, 2011 at 8:22 am

      Its pretty fun!!! =D
      My cat is hysterical….he likes “people food” and and whenever anyone is in the kitchen, he just happens to show up! =D

      Reply
  • 11. Lisa @Thrive Style  |  January 20, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Great idea! Make bagels…I wouldn’t have thought of that, but I like the idea of making things rather than buying them in general so this would definitely fit into my life!

    My fave bagel is sesame seed. Pretty simple…I like that toasty seed taste!

    Reply
    • 12. fitchocoholic  |  January 20, 2011 at 12:27 pm

      I got the idea out of my mom’s cookbook….Better Homes and Gardens, I think!

      Reply
  • 13. Quay Po Cooks  |  January 21, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    I have always wanted to make bagels but have not get to do so. Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply
    • 14. fitchocoholic  |  January 21, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      No problem! Its really great! Make sure that, the first time you bake the bagels before boiling them, the tops of the bagels are crisp but not browned!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


