One of those days

January 29, 2011 at 7:46 am 6 comments

Yesterday was one of those days where things didn’t quite turn out right. I tried to make those English Muffins, but I guess that I measured incorrectly or something because a dough never actually formed, even after I added more flour. Then, just when the dough was close to being right, ants attacked it. We have lots of ants here. Little bitty ones that attack anything sweet, salty or apparently doughy. So I’m going to try that recipe at a later date.

Then, as I was making oatmeal in the microwave for overnight oats (I like mine at least partially cooked….something about the texture of raw oats throws me off) and the entire bowl boiled over! Argh!

Well, one thing did turn out: Mango-Banana Muffins!

I based my recipe on another one and forgot to write it down, but I prewrote it here so that I could share it with you:

1 peeled and diced ripe mango

1 mashed banana

2 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 T baking powder

Dash salt

1 cup milk

1/4 cup oil

2 eggs

1/2 tsp almond extract

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. Mix dry ingredients. In separate bowl, mix milk, oil, eggs, and extracts. Stir in mashed banana. Add wet to dry. Only when the entire mixture is fully combined, stir in the diced mango. Spoon into greased muffin tins. Bake 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned. I then took the hot muffins, drizzled melted butter on top and dunked them in sugar to make a topping!

This recipe yielded very moist muffins, so you might want to omit or reduce the oil if you prefer a more cake-like muffin! We all enjoyed them though! I got 12 medium-sized muffins and about 20 mini muffins out of this!

This morning we’re hanging out, but I still have that pesky chem test to take…..boo!

Hope ya’ll have a great weekend!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Friday! Sunday Relaxation

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lindsay  |  January 29, 2011 at 8:11 am

    oh girl, I’ve been there before! But at least you’ve got some good muffins to go along with it.
    😉

    Reply
  • 3. Peggy  |  January 29, 2011 at 10:36 am

    At least the muffins turned out great! I think we’ve all had those crazy baking days!

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  January 29, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Yep! Hope you have a great weekend!

      Reply
  • 5. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  January 29, 2011 at 11:24 am

    Kitchen mishaps are so frustrating. Are you by chance living at altitude in Brazil? That would really affect something like English muffins.

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  January 29, 2011 at 12:41 pm

      They really are. No….we live on the coast, pretty flat. I honestly probably got wrong measuring cup or something….I also had the muffins, rice and pasta going on….and it sounds like something I might do! =P

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


