When Your Freezer won’t Freeze…

February 1, 2011 at 7:37 am 18 comments

….your smoothie isn’t thick and creamy. I found this out today. After I finished my all time favorite circuit workout (the FitSugar total body workout on my Workin’ It page) followed up by a jump rope cardio workout, I was ready for a nice, cold smoothie. So I pour my milk and coffee into the blender, and I open the freezer to get some frozen banana chunks, and they’re not frozen. The smoothie still tasted fine, just not very smoothie-like. More like juice. Well, now at least we know there’s a problem! =D

Anyway, I really want to say that if any of ya’ll are looking for a good circuit workout to do, you should try the Total Body one!!!! Its quick (20 minutes) and you can definitely switch it up and sub your favorite exercises. Its good for me because I really don’t like strength training, so if I can tell myself:

“Ok, you only have 12 reps of this to do before you move on.”, the workout goes by a whole lot faster and keeps the ADD side of me happy! =D

Anyway, today my mom, sister and I are going downtown to meet up with some of the ministry team! We’re going shopping for some things to make Ben’s Bells with. If you haven’t heard of Ben’s Bells, here’s an excerpt from their website:

March 29th, 2002 started as a very normal day in our lives. Our sons, Matthew – nearly 6 and Ben – nearly 3 – were home playing with a playmate. Ben had a cold and a bit of a croupy cough. We were not alarmed. Never did it enter our minds that Ben was seriously ill or that he could die. And then he did. It only took seconds for him to become unconscious after his airway swelled shut. Jeannette’s efforts at rescue breathing and CPR were in vain as Ben’s airway was completely closed. In those moments on the morning of Good Friday our lives changed forever.

The depth of pain we were experiencing was beyond description. Every parent’s worst nightmare was our reality and we didn’t know how we would possibly survive. More than anything we just wished we could die. Perhaps we would have died if not for Matthew. He was still alive and he needed us as he had never needed us before.

Slowly, we began incorporating coping strategies into our lives. We came up with a design for Ben’s Bells and started making them in our back yard studio with friends. The therapeutic effect of working with clay was amazing as was the power of being surrounded by people talking and working toward a common goal. We decided to make hundreds of the Bells and distribute them randomly in our community to encourage the kindness that we so depended on to get through each day. Since Ben’s death, it had been the kindness of others, strangers and friends, that had helped us begin to heal. We wanted to find a way to pass on that kindness and to help others in the process.

On the first anniversary of his death, hundreds of Ben’s Bells were distributed throughout Tucson, hung randomly in trees, on bike paths, and in parks with a written message to simply take one home and pass on the kindness.

The ripple effect that followed was wonderful and startling. Individuals finding the Bells had stories to tell – lots of them – about grief and healing and hope. Our local newspaper printed the story – front page – next to fast breaking news of the recent war in Iraq. School groups and businesses and individuals began calling to see how they could get involved and in no time, hundreds and hundreds of Tucsonans were involved in crafting Ben’s Bells.

Ben’s Bells symbolize kindness and its power in healing. We hope that they will touch others’ lives and help to make our community a more gentle place to live. We are so very grateful for our community’s incredible enthusiasm for the project and we know that we can make a difference.

Sweet, huh?

So I’m trying to cram all of my schoolwork in this morning so that I can go this afternoon!!!!!

What’s your favorite type of workout?

I go back and forth (again, ADD) but now I’m lovin’ on circuit workouts! Cardio and (much needed) strength training in one, baby! =P

See ya tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

School Overload and Weigh-In #2 Running Around

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cait  |  February 1, 2011 at 8:42 am

    I LOVE circuit work outs! I’m trying to do it everyday which is making me feel so much better! love this blog 🙂 chocolate is def a healthy dose to have every day!

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  February 1, 2011 at 8:43 am

      Its amazing how much strength training moves can get your heart rate up, isn’t it?
      Thanks so much!!!!!
      I think that chocolate should be a food group! =D

      Reply
  • 3. TheHealthyApron  |  February 1, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Circuit workouts really get the job done! I love them!! I feel like I work everything!

    That is a wonderful story!

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  February 1, 2011 at 9:43 am

      Me, too!
      I think that the ben’s bells story is sooo sweet! =D

      Reply
  • 5. Erica  |  February 1, 2011 at 9:17 am

    oh man! Hope your freezer gets fixed quick! And have fun with your mama and sister!! Favorite type of workout- group fitness! Body Attack is my absolute favorite

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  February 1, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Looks like someone will definitely be coming out here tomorrow!
      I’m excited about this afternoon!!! =D Don’t get out much….hahahahaha

      Reply
  • 7. megan @ the oatmeal diaries  |  February 1, 2011 at 9:47 am

    I like short and sweet workouts! =P Haha I also love spin class and body pump.

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  February 1, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      hahaha me too!!!!! Never been to spin, but it sounds fun!

      Reply
  • 9. oatsandspice  |  February 1, 2011 at 10:24 am

    I love running outside… especially when it is warm 🙂

    I love your blog – it is so cute! I can’t wait to keep reading… I just started blogging about 2 months ago – it is extremely addicting 🙂 Take a look at it if you get a chance: http://www.oatsandspice.wordpress.com

    Reply
    • 10. fitchocoholic  |  February 1, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      running always guarantees a good workout! =D

      Reply
  • 11. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com  |  February 1, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Running is my fave:) I need to try that workout, it sounds killer!! Bummer about the freezer but juice is jealous! I loved your tangent about being mad if you don’t get chocolate everyday…we are so alike!

    Reply
    • 12. fitchocoholic  |  February 1, 2011 at 3:07 pm

      It is! =D hahahahahaha I think that chocolate should be considered a food group! =D

      Reply
  • 13. lindsay  |  February 1, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    wow, ben’s bells is pretty sweet. Love the circuit workouts. That with running are my favorites!
    LC

    Reply
  • 15. Kimberly @ Im Not Done  |  February 1, 2011 at 12:58 pm

    Running and Crossfit!

    I’m going to try the frozen banana smoothie thing. Time to make use of all those bananas I buy that tend to go bad on the counter. I always say I’m saving them for banana bread but let’s be honest, a smoothie would take a lot less effort!

    Reply
    • 16. fitchocoholic  |  February 1, 2011 at 3:08 pm

      Its amazing how much thicker a smoothie made with frozen bananas is!!!!! I sometimes make it with bananas and fruit flavored yogurt or with banana, milk and instant coffee!!!! Soo good! =D

      Reply
  • 17. Erica  |  February 2, 2011 at 5:58 am

    The nut butter adds a creamy flavor and balances out the heat!

    Reply
    • 18. fitchocoholic  |  February 2, 2011 at 7:07 am

      Cool! I might have to try that soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


