Sick Day and Double Recipes

February 11, 2011 at 6:30 am 10 comments

Sorry about yesterday’s uber-random post…..I was fueled by Allegra and Benadryl while writing it. The past couple of day’s I’ve had a sore throat, but yesterday it developed into a full-on cold. Fun stuff. Again, I apologize and hope I didn’t scare anyone away with my random musings! =D

I am making up for it today though. I’ve got two awesome recipes!!! One’s so easy that I don’t really even think it should be qualified as a recipe, but we love it!

Here ya go:

1. Brazilian (non-spicy) Pico

3/4 bell pepper

1/2-1 whole onion

1 small or 1/2 large tomato

Small bunch of fresh cilantro

Dice bell pepper and onion very finely. Cut tomato, remove pulp and chop finely as well. Remove the stems from the cilantro and roughly chop. Combine all the veggies! If you want, you can add some lemon or a good vinegar for a little extra flavor! We use this on rice and beans, in sandwiches, and basically with anything that could use a little veggie love! =D

Bell pepper and 'Mater

I chop the bell pepper and tomato, and my sister chops the onion and cilantro! What a great team, huh? =D

Now, for the second recipe. Its not remotely healthy so if you’re looking for something “light”, this is not it. But I’m told they taste really awesome! The only reason I haven’t tried one yet is because I can’t swallow water without choking so I thought I’d wait a little while before eating a baked good.

Doughnut Muffins (adapted from How to-Simplify)

Ingredients:

For the muffins:

  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk

For the coating:

  • 1/4 -1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a muffin tin.
  2. Combine flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon in a medium bowl.
  3. Combine oil, sugar, egg and milk in a large bowl. Add dry ingredients and stir only to combine.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes. While muffins are baking, melt butter in a small bowl. In another small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon.
  5. Shake muffins out of the muffin tin while the muffins are still hot.
  6. Dip muffins in the melted butter and then into the sugar and cinnamon mixture. Place on a wire rack and allow to cool.

Muffins! =D

In case you can’t tell, I didn’t just dip these into the sugar+cinnamon mixture, I rolled them in it! =D Yum!!!!

Oh and there’s something I should tell ya’ll. Tomorrow we’re going out of town for a mission conference. I’ll be gone all week and don’t know how often I’ll have internet access. I’ll definitely pre-write some posts, but please, please don’t be offended if it seems like I disappear for a while! =D

That’s all for today!

Off to do some studying! =Dr

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Girl Night!!!! Jam-Packed Day

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  February 11, 2011 at 8:25 am

    I hope the conference goes well! Never apologize for posts! Its your blog- do what you want šŸ˜‰ Those doughnut muffins sound ridiculous good!

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  February 11, 2011 at 8:54 am

      hahahaha
      Everyone loooved the muffins!! Next time, I’ll probably try out some different variations! =D

      Reply
  • 3. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  February 11, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Both recipes look great! I have been meaning to make donut muffins, I kind of want to do a chocolate version (duh).

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  February 11, 2011 at 8:55 am

      We actually have some leftover chocolate glaze in our fridge that I was thinking of pouring over the muffins, but I figured that for the first time making them, I’d stick to the traditional recipe. Next time, though…..chocolate glaze here I come! =D

      Reply
  • 5. Hungry Dancer  |  February 11, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Your recipes both sound delicious!! I have to try them!!

    Reply
  • 7. lindsay  |  February 11, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    i love random posts! Never apologize. But the recipes sure are nice! I am such a sucker for cinnamon muffins too.

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  February 11, 2011 at 2:03 pm

      I basically love cinnamon everything! =D

      Reply
  • 9. alex  |  February 14, 2011 at 7:16 am

    yay thanks for the recipe!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


