New Stuff to Try

February 28, 2011 at 5:50 am 12 comments

Wow!

I just want to thank you all for your super-sweet comments on Saturday’s post!!!! =D You guys are great! I really love being here and seeing what God has in store for us in Recife!

So I didn’t gain any weight this past week, but I also didn’t lose any, so that’s progress. I had increased my intake by about 500 calories last week, so this week I’ll add another 400-500. I didn’t want to go ahead and add 1000 calories last week for fear of making myself feel ill, and therefore decrease my determination to eat more. I figured that if I tried to add in too much too soon it might actually have a negative effect on my weight-gain efforts. Over the weekend, we bought some new snacks for me to try out so that I don’t get bored eating the same things every day. One of them was a vitamin shake mix, which I would add to milk, and get a significant amount of calories without feeling like I stuffed myself after drinking it. Here’s a pic:

VitaminaShake de Maçã, Banana e Mamão

I tried that one, its banana, apple and papaya flavored, and it was pretty decent. A little sweet for me, but you could taste the individual fruits and it didn’t have a funny aftertaste or grittiness like the protein powder that I tried did. Also, its pretty low in sodium (only 21 mg) and has 15 percent of 7 different vitamins before I add the milk. Not too shabby. =D We also bought a peach-flavored shake to try out!

So today I have a massive amount of school to do, which is precisely why I’m blogging. =P Too tired to think US History or Algebra. Which brings me to another question, I’ve been sleeping early and not waking up at all in the night, but I’m still tired all of the time and want to go to sleep earlier than anyone else in the family, why is that? Just curious….it may have something to do with stress……or something else…I really don’t know. =P

How was your weekend?

Mine was pretty good. We spent most of yesterday at home, relaxing, and then went to church and dinner last night. Saturday, I was alone at home most of the day, but then we once again had some hang-out time in the evening.

Well, I had better get going…..hope you all of a good Monday! =D

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Why We’re Here The Return of the Green Monster

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  February 28, 2011 at 7:10 am

    Glad to hear things are going well and that you like the shakes! Feeling sleepy can come from a number of causes- if it continues, you may want to talk to your doctor. When I got pregnant, I became anemic pretty quickly. This made me super tired. Good luck with all the work

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  February 28, 2011 at 7:31 am

      Oh…thanks for the tips! I’ll give it a few more days and see if I’m still constantly tired.
      Thanks!!! =D

      Reply
  • 3. katshealthcorner  |  February 28, 2011 at 10:48 am

    That shake mix sounds delicous! 😀

    If you continually feel tired, I’d say go see what your doctor has to say.

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  February 28, 2011 at 11:06 am

      It is!!! =D
      I know….maybe its just a result of all the emotional stress from the weekend…..I’ll see how I feel in the morning, and if I’m still tired, than I’ll probably see a doctor.

      Reply
  • 5. Tara  |  February 28, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    I totally understand what you mean about the calories. I remember when I had to start upping my calories it felt like SO much at first, but then you just adjust. I used to have carnation instant breakfast shakes, which were really good! Idk if you have access to those. The flavors aren’t that exciting though. Papaya, banana, and apple sounds awesome!

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  February 28, 2011 at 5:06 pm

      I’m hoping I start to adjust soon! =D We don’t have instant breakfast, but I really do like the shakes that we found here!!!

      Reply
  • 7. quirkyrunner  |  February 28, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    Hey! When I had to increase my caloric intake after losing a lot of weight, I found that nuts were the answer! A handful of almonds, pecans and pistachios here and there really helped me without feeling sick or too full 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  February 28, 2011 at 5:55 pm

      Awesome! Thanks for the tips!!!! =D

      Reply
  • 9. Kristina  |  February 28, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Glad to hear you’re figuring things out-counting calories=not fun! Scoops of nutubutters are quick treats and high calorically!

    Reply
    • 10. fitchocoholic  |  March 1, 2011 at 3:47 am

      Not it’s not fun at all!
      Thanks for the idea! =D

      Reply
  • 11. lindsay  |  March 1, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Keep the progress going. You can do it! I love the flavors in the shake. Papaya is my favorite!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


