Answering Questions

March 2, 2011 at 7:02 am 24 comments

So yesterday, the lovely Kat asked me a few questions over in the comment section. I decided that today would be the day to answer all of them, so here ya’ go:

What are some of your staples in your diet?

For breakfast, I eat a lot of oatmeal or grits.

Our grits!

Lunch is pretty basic: sandwiches, sweet potatoes, soup, etc.

 

A Brasilian diet will always consist of lots of rice and beans, so its a good thing that I love them both! =D We usually will have rice, beans and some meat for dinner.

Some of my favorite things to snack on are granola bars, yogurt, chocolate, raisins and popcorn!


What are some of your favorite recipes?

Well, first of all, I looove homemade bread! =D My aunt makes these crescent rolls that are to die for! I also love healthified recipes, like the banana muffins (I’ll usually sub the oil/butter for more mashed banana) or a cinnamon breakfast cake that calls for plain yogurt instead of a lot of butter. I also love anything with chocolate, like my homemade thin mints or chocolate cobbler.
What are your views on counting calories, fat, carbs, protein?

I believe that everyone is different, and therefore requires different nutrition. Sure, we all have to stay within a healthy range of caloric intake and such, but I don’t think we should obsess over that. Right now, I am keeping track of my calories just because I’m trying to gain weight. Usually, though, I try not to and just go by what makes me feel my best when I eat it. Personally, I tend to do better on a diet that has plenty of complex carbs and protein. Fat is something that I definitely need, but I feel sluggish if I eat a lot of it in one sitting. All in all, I think its important to know what makes us feel best, but that counting calories isn’t always the best thing to do.

What’s your favorite workout?

I love circuit workouts, like what I’ve featured on my workout page. My absolute favorite though, would probably be kickboxing or running.

 

Hope you all enjoyed my answers to the questions!!!!!!

Now, I have some for you:

What’s you faaavorite food?

What type of workout do you prefer?

Finally, what do you think about counting calories?

Hope you have an awesome Wednesday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

The Return of the Green Monster Out of the House

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  March 2, 2011 at 7:42 am

    I note the lack of a chocolate photo in the photojournal of what you commonly eat :).

    I think counting calories can be OK as long as it doesn’t consume your life. I personally instead focus on getting enough macronutrients (notably protein and fiber).

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  March 2, 2011 at 8:22 am

      hahaha probably because I finished my last bar too quickly to take a photo….=P

      I agree with you. I know what macronutrients I need to help me feel my best and try to include them in my diet. The only reason I’m actually counting calories right now, is, as I said, because I really need to gain weight.

      Reply
  • 3. Allison  |  March 2, 2011 at 10:30 am

    I never count calories rather just keep in mind what i plan to eat. I always try to include protein.carb, and fat at e ery meal and snack but my calorie levels can vary so much. When i am hungry i eat, when i am satisfied i stop!

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  March 2, 2011 at 10:49 am

      That’s an awesome way of looking at nutrition! =D

      Reply
  • 5. Kayla  |  March 2, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Favorite food is PEANUT BUTTER!!’

    I used to count EVERY SINGLE CALORIE that went into my body. But it was soooo tiring and TONS of work and I never made fun recipes because it was too much work to calculate calories. It was a dull sad time.

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  March 2, 2011 at 10:50 am

      Peanut butter is awesome! =D
      It is exhausting to count calories all of the time, isn’t it?

      Reply
  • 7. Lisa  |  March 2, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I agree with you—everyone has different nutritional needs. Many people don’t figure out what combos and proportions make them thrive best…but for those who do, it can be really helpful to keep track at least to get the hang of it. I count calories every once in a while for a couple days (but pay more attention to proportions of macronutrients) to make sure I’m on track. But it’s not a regular thing!

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  March 2, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      That’s a really good idea! Sometimes its so easy to think you’re taking in the right amount of calories and macronutrients, but you’re actually taking in either too much or not enough. Tracking every once in a while would help that without causing any obsession! =D

      Reply
  • 9. Natalie  |  March 2, 2011 at 8:01 pm

    Yay for running and kickboxing!!

    I once had a dish that a Brazilian friend of mine made and it was amazing…I think it was a grain but the texture of breadcrumbs sauteed with some herbs and served with black beans. SO delicious πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 10. fitchocoholic  |  March 3, 2011 at 3:59 am

      That sounds like what we call farofa….so good, isn’t it? =D

      Reply
  • 11. katshealthcorner  |  March 2, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Girl, you definitely have the right outlook on calories, etc. πŸ™‚

    I absolutely love homemade bread too! It is so much better than the store bought stuff. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions! πŸ˜€
    xoxo
    Kathleen

    Reply
    • 12. fitchocoholic  |  March 3, 2011 at 4:00 am

      No problem! I really enjoyed writing this post!!! =D

      Reply
  • 13. my nikon eats food  |  March 2, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    i have a lot of favorite foods…haha unfortunately chocolate is not one of them πŸ˜› i’m a vanilla girl all the way!

    i agree, counting calories is not for everyone, but i think it is a useful tool. i am currently helping my boyfriend lose weight right now (he needs to lose it and knows it!) so i calculate calories for the foods i make for him. he is definitely not obsessive about it (quite the contrary) but i guess its different bc he’s a guy!

    Reply
    • 14. fitchocoholic  |  March 3, 2011 at 4:03 am

      So is my sister!!! =D
      Well, calorie counting can definitely be useful as long as it doesn’t take over your life! =D I guess guys do tend to obsess less about that sort of thing though….

      Reply
  • 15. megan @ the oatmeal diaries  |  March 3, 2011 at 12:52 am

    Favorite food: peanut butter! Or oatmeal… or oats with pb!! And I think if you’re gaining it’s good to keep track of calories for sure.

    Reply
    • 16. fitchocoholic  |  March 3, 2011 at 4:03 am

      Oats+ PB= best breakfast everrrr! =D

      Reply
  • 17. Tara  |  March 3, 2011 at 5:49 am

    My favorite food changes every day.. I love eggplant and I love peanut butter.
    My favorite workout is running. It’s my passion! For strength training, I always do circuit style. I can’t stand waiting around between sets!

    Reply
    • 18. fitchocoholic  |  March 3, 2011 at 5:59 am

      mmm……eggplant, I’m now craving some! =D
      I feel the same way about strength training…can’t stand still for too long! =D

      Reply
  • 19. alex  |  March 3, 2011 at 6:15 am

    Right now I am obsessed with Chinese food. I like it because I get really full from it fast so I never overeat…although I just want to eat and eat because I have some sick obsession with it right now! πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • 20. fitchocoholic  |  March 3, 2011 at 6:30 am

      Chinese is yummy!! We actually are friends with the owners of a local chinese place….so good! =D

      Reply
  • 21. lindsay  |  March 3, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    oh i lvoe grits! So yummy with pb! Great facts girl. Hope your having a great week, less stress!

    Reply
    • 22. fitchocoholic  |  March 4, 2011 at 4:07 am

      I’ve never tried grits and pb……maybe next time I make them! =D
      Thanks! Hope you’re having a great week as well!

      Reply
  • 23. Angela (the diet book junkie)  |  March 3, 2011 at 8:25 pm

    chocolate is my favorite food!! (hence the reason i stopped by your blog!) with calorie counting, i think it’s necessary for some, but like you said, we’re all different. personally, i don’t *count* my calories, but i know the calorie content in everything i eat. knowledge is power and all that. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 24. fitchocoholic  |  March 4, 2011 at 4:10 am

      Chocolate is awesome! =D
      About the calorie counting, that’s exactly what I believe!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


