Pre-Birthday Bash

March 11, 2011 at 5:40 am 16 comments

Ok, so it wasn’t really a “birthday bash” per se, but my sister and I had a super fun time last night having a little mini birthday celebration because a group will be here on her birthday, and her party with friends will be afterward.

There were two parts to the surprise:

Part 1- Baking

I told you all that I was going to bake a little somethin’ simple for my sister. Sooo I made sugar cookies based on this recipe from cooking light. I just omitted the icing. Of course, the cookies were lightened which gave me the perfect excuse to whip up some ganache and make sandwich cookies!!! =D Here are both of the recipes:

Sugar Cookies

  • 2 1/2  cups  all-purpose flour (about 11 1/4 ounces)
  • 1/2  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1  cup  granulated sugar
  • 10  tablespoon  butter, softened
  • 1 1/2  teaspoons  vanilla extract
  • 2  large egg whites

Preparation

To prepare cookies, lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt, stirring well with a whisk. Place granulated sugar and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until light and fluffy. Beat in 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla and egg whites. Gradually add flour mixture to butter mixture, beating at low speed just until combined. Divide dough in half. Shape each dough half into a ball; wrap each dough half in plastic wrap. Chill 1 hour.

Unwrap 1 dough ball. Press dough into a 4-inch circle on heavy-duty plastic wrap. Cover with additional plastic wrap. Roll dough, still covered, to a 1/4-inch thickness. Repeat procedure with remaining dough ball. Chill dough 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 375°.

Remove one dough portion from refrigerator. Remove top sheet of plastic wrap; turn dough over. Remove remaining plastic wrap. Using a 2 1/2-inch cutter, cut dough into 18 cookies. Place cookies 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake at 375° for 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool on pans 5 minutes. Remove cookies from pans; cool completely on wire racks. Repeat procedure with remaining dough half.

The only thing about these cookies is that I definitely baked them longer than 10 minutes, but that may just have been our oven.  They tasted wonderful!!!!!

Ganache-ish (I used a couple of different recipes and made up my own…its not true ganache, but it tasted good)

About 1 cup heavy cream

9 T cocoa powder

2 T oil

1/4 C brown sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

So basically, I combined the heavy cream and sugar and heated until simmering. Then, I stirred in the cocoa powder, oil and extract. And let thicken. It was pretty tasty. I was originally going to make a whipped icing (hence the brown sugar), that required no heating, but when it did not “whip”, I researched some ganache recipes, and because I didn’t have any actual baking chocolate, just sort of made up the recipe as I went along. This filling was pretty dark and bitter, but it went perfectly with the sweet cookies!

And now, for the pics:

Yes, I drizzled caramel on one of them. Yes, I have issues.

Yum!

Part 2- Movie and Popcorn

I let my sister pick out a movie (Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants) to watch and made us some popcorn! Salty for me, spicy for her!

All in all, we had a bunch of fun last night and I really think that she was surprised!

As ya’ll know, we have a group getting here later on today. We’re basically running around like crazy trying to get everything ready, and we’re all super excited!

I had better go….this was an uber long post!

Hope ya’ll have a great Friday!

What are your weekend plans?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Finished. Sewage

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  March 11, 2011 at 5:44 am

    Those cookies look so good—I love simple sugar cookies 🙂

    So glad it was a fun celebration!

    Have a wonderful day, and have fun with the group arriving!

    I’ll be catching up on work, working out, and hopefully visiting my grandparents this weekend…

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  March 11, 2011 at 6:12 am

      They were yummy!!!!!!

      Thanks!
      Your weekend sounds fun! Hope you have a nice day!

      Reply
  • 3. katshealthcorner  |  March 11, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Your Sugar Cookies look so good!!! You did such a great job! And what an awesome recipe you found! 😀 Sugar Cookies are one of my favorite to make because they’re pretty easy to decorate, while tasting great plain too! 😀

    Sounds like you had an awesome time!! I haven’t seen the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants yet. I hope they have it on Netflix! Then maybe I can see it! 😀

    Have a wonderful weekend Darling! 😀
    xoxo
    Kathleen

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  March 11, 2011 at 8:35 am

      They were yummy!!!!
      We love that movie, its so cute!
      Hope you have a great weekend too!!!!!! =D

      Reply
  • 5. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  March 11, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Very interesting approach to ganache – how did the texture turn out?

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  March 11, 2011 at 8:35 am

      Yeah, I had zero idea what I was doing…..I started with two separate recipes, and when the brown sugar one didn’t whip I combined them. It turned out really thick and creamy though, and tasted pretty good to me! haha

      Reply
  • 7. Erica  |  March 11, 2011 at 8:13 am

    What a fun celebration 🙂 I love sugar cookies….I actually prefer them over anything chocolaty! This weekend, one of my best friends is coming to visit! I’m actually about to go pick her up!!

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  March 11, 2011 at 8:36 am

      We love pretty much all cookies! hahaha
      Sounds fun! Hope you have a great time!!!!

      Reply
  • 9. lindsay  |  March 11, 2011 at 11:36 am

    I love that movie! So fun. Yummy food too!

    Reply
  • 11. Tara  |  March 11, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    I love popcorn!! The cookies sound fabulous too. I love sugar cookies with chocolate.

    I’m taking the SATs tomorrow, then I am working on my huge paper that is due on friday and studying for chemistry and spanish. Not a fun weekend, but considering my paper will finally be done and turned in this week, I’m really happy that there is an end in sight!

    Reply
    • 12. fitchocoholic  |  March 12, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      I love anything with chocolate! hahaha
      Good luck on the SATs! I took mine in december!

      Reply
  • 13. Kristina  |  March 12, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Aww love sugar cookies!!! They remind me of Christmas!

    Reply
  • 15. Natalie  |  March 12, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    I love movie nights…especially when they involve cookies…AND popcorn 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


