Surprise! :D

March 16, 2011 at 8:30 am 13 comments

Thank you guys so much for the thoughts and prayers yesterday!!!!! I’m going through a little bit of a rough patch right now, but hopefully means that I’ll start heading uphill soon! 😀

My sister and I just hung out at home yesterday, and went to dinner with the group, but today, we’re heading out to work! So excited!!!!!!

Now, here’s the surprise that I hinted at yesterday:

A little while ago I asked Janae to write a guest post for the blog. A couple of days ago, she sent it! I absolutely LOVE her blog and think that she’s an awesome person so I’m really excited that she wrote this post!!!!!!

Here ya go:

I am SO excited to be on Healthy Chocoholic’s blog!! I LOVE Gennifer’s blog and was honored when she asked me on over:)
Today I wanted to talk about the difference between running to lose weight and running because you love it!!
I started running to loose weight.  That is all I thought about and the only reason I did it.
Did I enjoy it? Nope!
Did I look forward to it?  NEVER.
It was miserable.  I was running for all the wrong reasons.  I have never met anyone that truly loves running when they are just doing it to burn calories and get skinny.  When we run for those things our brains view it as a negative thing and therefore dread doing it!!
So, what changed?
How did I change from the girl that looked for every excuse to get out of a run to a girl that CRAVES running and lives for a good run??
1-I signed up for a race because a friend talked me into it.  I realized that I really wanted to do my best (it was a marathon) and that I was really going to have to train HARD to finish the race.  I kind of forgot about ‘calories’ because I was so interested in learning how to train my best.
2-I began fueling my body TO run rather than trying to under-fuel it and run to loose weight. Once I started thinking about the foods that would make me stronger and faster I no longer thought about how many calories I was burning.
3-I started LOVING running because I was seeing results.  Not in regards to weight but because with a lot of hard work I could run longer and faster.  We all love to see ourselves evolve and become better and our brain starts to view running as a POSITIVE thing.
4-Fake it to make it.  If you hate running and you want to LOVE it, CHANGE your perspective.  Tell yourself over and over again that you love the way it makes you feel, that you love hearing your footsteps on the pavement and you love feeling sweat drip into your eyeballs during a hard workout and before you know it it will become habit to think those things about running!!! After a little while you will trick yourself into loving it:)  Our thoughts control EVERYTHING!!!
I hope that you are able to fall in love with ANY form of exercise and reap the mental, physical, social and spiritual benefits of getting a good workout!!!




Thanks Janae for the incredible guest post!!!!

What are your reasons for exercising? What’s your favorite form of exercise?

See ya tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Trouble Last Work Day for Group 1

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. katshealthcorner  |  March 16, 2011 at 10:44 am

    I love guest posts! 😀 They are so much fun! 😀

    My favotie ways to exercise is either run, bicycle, workout videos, etc. 🙂

    xoxo
    Kathleen

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  March 16, 2011 at 3:03 pm

      I love them too!
      I like all of those things except for the bicycling…I might be slightly traumatized from a bicycle accident….hahaha

      Reply
  • 3. Hungry Dancer  |  March 16, 2011 at 12:02 pm

    My favorite exercise is dancing!! Loved the guest post from Janae!! She’s amazing!!

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  March 16, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      That’s so cool!
      I looove Janae’s blog!

      Reply
  • 5. movesnmunchies  |  March 16, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    AWESOME POST! i used to be the same way with running.. i DREADED it.. and it wasnt until i let go of the pressure i had for myself an di truly enjoyed running!

    Reply
  • 7. janae @hungryrunnergirl.com  |  March 16, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Thank you so so much!! You have made my day!! You are amazing beautiful girl!

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  March 16, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      Thank YOU for writing for my blog! 😀

      Reply
  • 9. Erica  |  March 16, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    I couldn’t agree more! What a fun guest post! I exercise for my health in general and because I LOVE it. In fact, I love it so much, I became a group fitness instructor so I could share my passion with others. Hope you’re having a good one 😉

    Reply
    • 10. fitchocoholic  |  March 16, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      I really loved this guest post!!!
      That’s such a great outlook on exercising!!!!!
      Hope you have an awesome day, too! 😀

      Reply
  • 11. lindsay  |  March 16, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    oh yea, we love Janae! I hope you feel better soon Gen!

    Reply
    • 12. fitchocoholic  |  March 16, 2011 at 6:03 pm

      She’s awesome!
      Thanks for the support!!! 😀

      Reply
  • 13. Group Number Two :D «  |  March 21, 2011 at 2:59 am

    […] I want to touch on a subject that is very important to me. Last week, Janae wrote an amazing guest post about the difference between running (or exercising) to lose weight and running because its what […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


