Group Number Two :D

March 21, 2011 at 2:59 am 13 comments

Well, good morning to everyone!!!!!!

The second group arrived on Saturday and we’ve already had a great time! Yesterday there was an activity time for the children of the community, and about 100 kids showed up! It was awesome!!!!! In this group, there are 5 graduating seniors and 5 adults. Its been really nice to be able to hang out with some people who are closer to my age!!!!

Personally, I’ve been on a major emotional roller coaster the past week, mostly because of stress, I think. My hope is that I’ll stabilize a little bit more this week because I won’t be going out early in the morning to work with the group as much….we’ll mostly see each other at dinner. The on;y downside to this is that I actually have to do my schoolwork! 😛 Its been really nice to be able to take a week off! hahahaha

Sorry for the absence of pictures…I haven’t been taking any because I keep on leaving my SD card in my laptop, and forgetting to put it back in my camera….oh well! I promise there will be pics (and a recipe) tomorrow!

For now, though, I want to touch on a subject that is very important to me. Last week, Janae wrote an amazing guest post about the difference between running (or exercising) to lose weight and running because its what you enjoy doing. I want to talk briefly about how too much of a good thing (exercise) can actually have negative effects. Personally, I LOOOVE to do challenging workouts, such as running or even kickboxing. About a year and a half ago, I began participating in these types of workouts. I loved them, felt stronger and even noticed that I stressed out less. Then, it became something that I had to do every day, and if I missed a workout, it felt like the end of the world. I wouldn’t just get sad about missing the workout, I’d get depressed. Instead of working out when I felt like it, for the positive effects, I was working out to prove to everyone else that I could and lost the ability to be flexible in my schedule. There’s no telling what I missed out on while I was busy being upset at not getting to work out on a given day. Exercise shouldn’t control your attitude so completely, and that’s another area that I’ve been trying to work on!

Sorry for the super long rambling…..its just a topic that I wanted to mention at least once….:P

What do you think about exercise? Can it be excessive or am I overreacting? I really want to know what you think! 😀

Hope you all have a wonderful day!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Beach Day Healing

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lindsay  |  March 21, 2011 at 4:52 am

    you are so right, its a balance. Sometimes it can be too much of a good thing. thats when we need to re-examine our hearts.

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  March 21, 2011 at 7:23 am

      exactly! spring cleaning, here I come! 😀

      Reply
  • 3. alex  |  March 21, 2011 at 5:27 am

    Unfortunately I have always worked out to lose weight. I hate running but i’ve been “trying” to run so I can lose some weight. It’s awful. I guess the first step is admitting your issues 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  March 21, 2011 at 7:24 am

      well, sometimes its necessary to start working out one for one reason, and then find your passion for it later on! 😀

      Reply
  • 5. Lisa @ Thrive Style  |  March 21, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Glad you think you’ll have fun with the new group! And I hope your stress goes down too.

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on exercising—it is definitely a delicate balance, just like food! It’s unfortunate that so much of the motivation for many people comes from wanting calorie burn—but that’s obviously not the only issue with getting too focused on exercise. We need a balanced approach to everything in life, and exercise is no exception! I find that focusing more on moderate workouts (maybe one or two intense workouts per week) helps me keep my mindset moderate about it too!

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  March 21, 2011 at 8:16 am

      That’s an awesome way to get in good exercise without it becoming an obsession! Moderation is key in everything!!!!

      Reply
  • 7. Kristina  |  March 21, 2011 at 8:39 am

    Balance is key-I try to listen to my body to see when I should push and when I should relax a little. It’s hard bc it can def become compulsive!

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:40 am

      Balance is definitely important!!!! 😀

      Reply
  • 9. thehealthyapron  |  March 21, 2011 at 9:37 am

    Exercise can absolutely be addicting! I was definitely addicted in college and it was super unhealthy! I missed out on alot bc I didn’t want to miss a work out or I was concerned with burning off caloires. I’m glad I have a healthy pespecitve now!

    http://thehealthyapron.com/2011/02/03/are-you-addicted/

    http://thehealthyapron.com/2010/09/09/a-new-type-of-eating-disorder-exercise-bulimia/

    2 posts I wrote on the issue!

    Reply
    • 10. fitchocoholic  |  March 21, 2011 at 10:44 am

      Awesome posts!!! Thanks for the great comment! 😀

      Reply
  • 11. Alyssa  |  March 21, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    exercise can CERTAINLY be excessive. I’ve heard of girls who feel like they didn’t do enough if they only work out once a day. what on eeearth?

    Reply
    • 12. fitchocoholic  |  March 21, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      isn’t it sad that some people believe that? doesn’t sound like a fun way to live at ALL!

      Reply
  • 13. megan @ the oatmeal diaries  |  March 22, 2011 at 4:05 am

    Aww I hope your stress levels go down asap! It is definitely so easy to fall into a pattern of being “addicted” to exercise.. I agree that when it starts to control your attitude, that’s when you know it’s a problem!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


