National Student Leadership Conference

March 28, 2011 at 5:59 am 8 comments

Hey everyone!!! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend! I sure did! We stayed in pretty much all day yesterday….which was great. We watched You Again (this time with the whole family), I made a chicken soup (really simple: chicken broth, diced chicken, carrots, onions sauteed in garlic, bell pepper, penne pasta, red pepper, salt, black pepper, garlic powder, and a dash of chili powder), we ordered acai and fruit salad to eat with the movie, and just relaxed! How was your weekend?

One serious thing that we talked about was the NSLC. A couple of weeks ago, the first group that was here brought some mail for me. I’ve been invited to attend a summer program at Stanford, and also the NSLC. I’ve decided that if I go to one, it’ll be the NSLC. Basically, the National Student Leadership Conference is held at several different colleges across the country (in San Francisco, Washington, Chicago, and St. Louis). There are lots of different topics to choose from (I’m thinking about either culinary arts or business and entrepreneurship). Each session lasts from 6 to 13 days. I’d really love to go this summer, but my parents are worried about my stress levels, and consequently my eating disorder, if I’m basically on my own for a week and a half. So today, I’m going to call a doctor that I saw while we were in the States to get her opinion. The only thing is, in order to go, I’d need a scholarship, and the deadline for scholarship applications is tomorrow! So I really hope that my doctor can talk today! Have you ever done a college summer program? If so, would you say it was a positive experience?

Oh! On a completely random side note, I found this great total body strength routine the other day:

http://www.exercisetv.tv/workout-videos/bridal-body-burn-4020

Aaand, I’ve been lovin’ on some tabata intervals for warm-ups!!! Here is my fav:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AimPOSXe7n4

Gotta love a workout that calls itself “The World’s Fastest”!! hahaha

Hope you have a great day! 😀

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Rest I Hate Waiting

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alex  |  March 28, 2011 at 9:56 am

    bummer that you don’t have someone to go with. Planning and having a pretty good schedule really calms my stress levels. Maybe if you go plan in advance around the schedule for the conference (you can email them in advance about asking for the schedule…) and have snacks or whatever !

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  March 29, 2011 at 6:09 am

      The fact that the NSLC website has a sample schedule to give me an idea of what I’ll be doing has been really helpful with my stress levels!!! I’ll definitely pack some snacks, just in case! 😀

      Reply
  • 3. thehealthyapron  |  March 28, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    mmm glad you are getting your doctor’s opinion about going to the conference. Sounds like a great opportunity but you don’t want to have a set back either!! LEt us know!

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  March 29, 2011 at 6:10 am

      I am glad that I talked to my doctor! She was really helpful and had some great advice!

      Reply
  • 5. Kristina  |  March 28, 2011 at 7:04 pm

    That’s good you are getting an md opinion-you dont want to do more harm!

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  March 29, 2011 at 6:10 am

      Exactly! I really want to go, but if my doctor had said that the NSLC would cause more harm than good, I would have stayed here.

      Reply
  • 7. Lisa  |  March 28, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    Good luck figuring things out in time! It sounds like you’re going about it in a smart way and being totally open about it.

    I did a summer program once—it was for a week, and it was kind of stressful, but it was also really great practice for going to college! Meeting new people, and being in situations (on a small temporary scale) where you have to figure things out and cope with the unknown. It might be a good stepping stone for the future? A small success under your belt…and then more confidence and less stress later? It sounds like talking to the doctor to figure out your best plan is a great way to figure it out.

    Reply
    • 8. fitchocoholic  |  March 29, 2011 at 6:11 am

      I definitely think that as long as I stay on track, this could be really great for me. I’m not much of a people person, so pushing myself out of my comfort zone in that area is always helpful!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


