Kitchen Time

April 4, 2011 at 6:06 am 20 comments

Heeey everyone! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!! I sure did! We relaxed, had family time, and went to church. My cat even had some relaxation time with dad:

TWO remotes! 😀

Before I forget to mention it, I got an awesome workout in on Friday! A few weeks ago, I cam across this circuit, and let me say, it doesn’t look that hard, but by the fourth time you are doing pushups, it IS!!!! 😀

Today’s a busy day for my mom, so I thought I’d tackle breakfast. I made my first-ever scones!!!! They were actually pretty easy to throw together, and everyone seemed to like them! I confess that I haven’t actually eaten one yet, but will for a post-workout treat! 😀 Anyway, here’s the recipe that I used:

Banana Scones (adapted from Food.com)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 3 T brown sugar (packed)
  • 2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 6 T butter
  • 8 T milk (I ended up adding a little more)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup diced banana

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 400°F Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Cut butter into a few chunks and rub it into the flour mixture with your fingertips.
  • Mix milk and vanilla in a small glass. Add the banana chunks and continue to stir, adding more milk if necessary, until dough comes together.
  • Pat dough into a disk about 1 inch thick. Cut into eight sections with a knife and place each on baking sheet.
  • Bake at 400F for 17-20 minutes, until light gold.                                                               I also made some homemade coffee creamer! My mom loves it, and since this is both her birthday and her wedding anniversary month, I thought I’d make her a special treat! It was actually super easy! All I did was combine 1/2 C milk, 1/4 to 1/3 C sweetened condensed milk (I didn’t measure exactly :P) and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract! Then, I shook everything up and voila we have vanilla  coffee creamer!
  • That’s about it for me today…. What does your week look like?
  • Advertisements

    Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

    Nothin’ Much What Motivates Me?

    20 Comments Add your own

    • 1. Lisa  |  April 4, 2011 at 12:42 pm

      So glad you got to relax! What a cute kitty pic too 🙂

      The recipe sounds awesome. I love anything with bananas!

      Reply
      • 2. fitchocoholic  |  April 4, 2011 at 4:59 pm

        Thanks!!!
        It was tasty! We love bananas, too.

        Reply
    • 3. Maris (In Good Taste)  |  April 4, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      Your scones sound delicious.I love how you made your mom the vanilla creamer-very creative!

      Reply
      • 4. fitchocoholic  |  April 4, 2011 at 4:59 pm

        They were yummy!!!!!
        She loved the creamer, and I love trying to make different things! hahahaha

        Reply
      • 5. fitchocoholic  |  April 4, 2011 at 4:59 pm

        They were yummy!!!!!
        She loved the creamer, and I love trying to make different things! hahahaha

        Reply
    • 6. Olivia  |  April 4, 2011 at 2:31 pm

      Can’t wait to hear what you thought of the scones! I love banana baked goods:)

      Reply
      • 7. fitchocoholic  |  April 4, 2011 at 5:00 pm

        I loved them!!!!! Banana makes (almost) everything better, in my opinion! 😀

        Reply
      • 8. fitchocoholic  |  April 4, 2011 at 5:00 pm

        I loved them!!!!! Banana makes (almost) everything better, in my opinion! 😀

        Reply
    • 9. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  April 4, 2011 at 3:33 pm

      Congrats on the scones! You could drizzle some chocolate on them.

      Reply
    • 11. Erica  |  April 5, 2011 at 5:48 am

      That picture of your cat is hilarious. And scones- yum! Love the density. I’ve never had banana in scones and now I totally want to try it. Week is looking good- lots of group fitness stuff going on. Otherwise- usual work

      Reply
      • 12. fitchocoholic  |  April 5, 2011 at 8:06 am

        We loved the scones!!! 😀
        Hope you have an awesome week!

        Reply
    • 13. Alexis @ There She Goes  |  April 5, 2011 at 5:50 am

      hmm, I have also not yet made scones…

      Reply
      • 14. fitchocoholic  |  April 5, 2011 at 8:07 am

        I would totally suggest making them! 😀

        Reply
    • 15. lindsay  |  April 5, 2011 at 6:21 am

      yay!! you made scones!! and that cat is too cute.

      Reply
      • 16. fitchocoholic  |  April 5, 2011 at 8:07 am

        yes, i did! they were yummy!!!!!
        the cat thinks he’s the most adorable thing ever….hahahahaha

        Reply
    • 17. Tara  |  April 5, 2011 at 7:45 pm

      I’m obsessed with scones. Almost as obsessed as I am with muffins right now. I go through phases.
      Your cat is so cute! So innocent looking, but I bet he/she is changing the channel on you or something. haha!

      Reply
      • 18. fitchocoholic  |  April 6, 2011 at 3:23 am

        The scones were sooo yummy! I might be obsessed now, too! hahahaha

        That is exactly right about my cat….he may look innocent, but he’s definitely up to something! 😀

        Reply
    • 19. katshealthcorner  |  April 7, 2011 at 8:00 pm

      Your kitty is SO cute!!! Haha, I know who’s in control! 😉

      Reply
      • 20. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 4:17 am

        hahahaha
        He likes to think he is! 😀

        Reply

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    Join 6 other followers

    Archive


