Powerless and Pictureless

April 19, 2011 at 5:58 am 14 comments

Heeey! Hope you all had a wonderful weekend!!! Sorry about my total absence form the blogging world yesterday…..we had no electricity until mid-afternoon, and by then, I really needed to do some school stuff! 😛

I’m also sorry for the recent lack of pictures on here….my camera has gone crazy, is eating through batteries and changed the display language to Japanese….go figure!

So, our weekend was pretty laid back. We mostly hung out at home, got acai and fruit salads on Saturday, made chocolate milkshakes on Sunday, and watched some movies! I made my banana scones for breakfast on Sunday, and today, I made biscuits for my parents’ anniversary(this is the first morning that they’ve been here since their trip!). For some reason, my biscuits did not rise at all, so I ended up with very yummy, flat-as-a-pancake, biscuits, which I named pan-skits. Lovely, right? 😛

I have a LOT of NSLC stuff to do this week: contact people in different businesses, email my aunt and cousin my scholarship “packages” so that they can mail then to the various businesses, look at airfare, and start figuring out what I’ll need to buy when I get to the States (business clothes, for example). Besides all of that, I still have my regular school stuff to accomplish!

About my gluten-free experiment, I really did feel a lot better when I reduced my gluten intake. We have  a friend who is a nutritionist, so we’ll be asking her for her opinion as well. I don’t think that I can completely eliminate gluten right now, mostly because finding gf food here is a lot harder and I still need the extra calories, since I’m trying to gain weight. I will, however, be greatly reducing my gluten intake, especially at night, as that seems to be the worst time for me personally to eat foods that contain gluten. What are some easy gf recipes that I could make here? We do have stuff like gf flour, but its hard to find, so I was wondering if there were any recipes that I could try out that wouldn’t require a lot of special ingredients, but that would still be gluten free.

That’s about it for me….What all do you have on this week’s agenda?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Sister Time! One More Thing we don’t Have

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Victoria (District Chocoholic)  |  April 19, 2011 at 6:00 am

    You could make some brunsli – no weird ingredients and gluten free http://districtchocoholic.blogspot.com/2010/12/basler-brusnli-chocolate-almond-cookies.html

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  April 19, 2011 at 1:54 pm

      That looks really tasty!! The only thing I’d have to buy would be the almonds! 😀

      Reply
  • 3. katshealthcorner  |  April 19, 2011 at 7:15 am

    You could make a SINGLE LADY BANANA CREAM PIE! 😀

    http://katshealthcorner.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/a-larabar-that-isnt-a-larabar/

    I’m so glad that the less-gluten experience is working for you! I’m sorry about your electricity-outage stuff. I totally understand how hard it is without electricity. 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  April 19, 2011 at 1:56 pm

      Oh yaaaay!! I need to buy some almonds or some other nut now!! 😀

      Reply
  • 5. alex  |  April 19, 2011 at 9:09 am

    I’m not gluten free so I have no advice for you 😦 I am studying a lot this week and getting ready to host a pot luck…I have no idea what to make!!!

    Reply
    • 6. fitchocoholic  |  April 19, 2011 at 1:56 pm

      That’s fiine! I’m just now figuring it all out myself!

      Reply
  • 7. lindsay  |  April 19, 2011 at 11:40 am

    so excited for you. ANd I can’t wait to hear more about the GF diet.

    Reply
  • 9. Kristina  |  April 19, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    i’m all about Socca Pizzas!!!!!

    Reply
    • 10. fitchocoholic  |  April 19, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      those sound soooo good!! 😀

      Reply
  • 11. Maris (In Good Taste)  |  April 19, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    You must share your recipe for banana scones. Sounds delish!

    Reply
    • 12. fitchocoholic  |  April 20, 2011 at 5:50 am

      They’re soooo good!!! I think that I have the recipe on my recipes page. I make a brown sugar glaze to go with them by combining 1/4 c brown sugar 9or 1/8 c brown sugar and 1/8 c regular sugar depending on your preferences!) with 1 T water, a splash of milk, and 1/4 t vanilla extract in a saucepan and heating until the sugar has dissolved!!!! So, so tasty! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


