Monday Baking Time

May 2, 2011 at 5:57 am 9 comments

Heeey everyone!!! Hope you all had an amazing, relaxing weekend!!!! We didn’t do too much….yesterday we went to a new church close by and then stopped by the acai place because it was within walking distance! πŸ˜€

So, I don’t know if ya’ll have noticed, but I tend to do most of my baking on Mondays. I guess its because Monday is the one day when we don’t have fresh bread (the bakery is closed on Sunday, and typically, my family will eat some bread w/ butter and jelly for breakfast), and also because my mom cooks a lot over the weekend, and tries to make special breakfasts for us. So, I bake on Monday mornings!!! Another thing you might have noticed: I’m slightly obsessed with scones. My recipe page really only has the one banana scone recipe, but I’ve made it several times. Today, I thought I’d switch it up and try out some new scones, and boy am I glad I did! Here’s the recipe for ya:

Lemon Cream Scones

Β Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour

  • ΒΌ cup sugar

  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

  • 2 teaspoons lemon zest

  • 1/3 teaspoon salt

  • Β½ cup butter

  • 2/3 cup heavy cream

  • 2/3 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375oF.

  2. Combine all dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl.

  3. Cut butter into mixture.

  4. Stir in cream and vanilla. Mix just until dough comes together.

  5. Roll dough to 1 inch thick, fold in half, repeat. Roll out a third time to ΒΎ – 1 inch thick, cut into 8 pieces.

  6. Place on pan and bake for 15-18 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Not really even remotely healthy, but so, so tasty!!! I topped them with a simple sugar glaze!

I realize that I tend to share a lot of breakfast-y baked recipes, so I’ll definitely try to post some typical brazilian-style recipes, and just some actual meals that we eat! πŸ˜€ What is your favorite kind of recipe to share?

As for my workouts, I’ve really not tried a new one in the longest time…..I’m loving bootcamp-style workouts and kickboxing! Today, I’ll be calling a couple of nearby gyms to see if I can join one!!!!

Well, I guess that’s about it for today….hope you all have an amazing Monday!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

The Playoff Game Joining a Gym

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. katshealthcorner  |  May 2, 2011 at 8:24 am

    I think my favorite recipes to share are Cookies! and Muffins! and PIZZERTS! πŸ˜€ oh, and anything involving Peanut Butter. πŸ™‚

    YUM! I don’t think I have ever had a scone before. I really need to try them though! πŸ™‚ Yours sound DELICIOUS! πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  May 2, 2011 at 9:21 am

      hahahha I love ALL of those things!!! πŸ˜€ Especially if there is peanut butter!!
      Scones are really good, sort of like a biscuit dough, so they’re dense, and delicious!

      Reply
  • 3. Maris (In Good Taste)  |  May 2, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    I love scones. My favorite is probably chocolate chip but I must say these sound delicious and I will make them!

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  May 2, 2011 at 4:17 pm

      Chocolate chip is aaalways good!! πŸ˜€ Yaay! Tell me if you like them!!!!

      Reply
  • 5. mitzi song  |  May 2, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    i love acai!! jealous =)

    Reply
  • 6. Tara  |  May 2, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Lemon Cream Scones sound fabulous! I like to share baked good recipes, especially muffins! They’re the best! The first thing I go to when I find a new blog is to check their muffin recipes.

    Reply
  • 7. lindsay  |  May 3, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    these would be great with coconut flour! GF too!

    Reply
  • 8. Erica  |  May 4, 2011 at 5:51 am

    mmmmmmmmmmm I love scones too. So dense and wonderful πŸ™‚ And lemony baked goods are the best. Hope your week goes well

    Reply
  • 9. Wrong Test «  |  May 30, 2011 at 6:05 am

    […] because today is Monday, my sister and I baked!!!! We basically used my Lemon Cream Scone recipe, but took out the zest and added 1/3 C cocoa powder to make chocolate cream scones!!! Then, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 5 other followers

Archive


