Ouch!

May 6, 2011 at 6:25 am 8 comments

Hey!!!!!!How has your week been? Mine has been super busy….what with school and actually getting out and going to the gym and all, I feel like I’ve definitely been more productive and out of the house lately!!! πŸ˜€

Yesterday was my second day going to the gym. Each new member is assigned a personal trainer, who designs a workout plan based on their goals and ability. So, my trainer decided that I should do strength training (major muscle groups) three days a week, and cardio (with some minor muscle group strength training) twice. Let me just say that I am SORE! Extremely. And hungry, too.

Because I’m ADD and can’t for the life of me stay on one exercise machine forΒ  longer than 20 minutes, I found this really fun 40-minute cardio workout to do yesterday that had me jumping from the stationary bike to the elliptical and finishing up on the treadmill! I lightened the intensity a little so that I wouldn’t burn too many calories, but I still got a good workout in without boring myself to death!!! Of course, I just had to toss together a playlist to keep me goin’ during my workout. Apparently I’m ADD in my musical tastes as well, because I had everything from the Little Mermaid to some Christian rock songs to Hey Soul Sister! hahaha Here’s what my playlist looked like:

Eclectic, huh? hahaha

For Cinco de Mayo, we had some burritos and cheesy tortilla soup!!!! So, so good! πŸ˜€ Here’s my soup recipe, which I got off the internet, but can’t find again:

Cheesy Tortilla Soup
2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
1 1/2 teaspoons olive oil
1/2 medium onion, minced
2 tablespoons minced garlic
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 (14.5-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
1 (28-ounce) can low-sodium chicken broth
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons water, divided
1/4 cup cornstarch
1 (4-ounce) can chopped green chiles
4 ounces shredded Cheddar cheese (about 1 cup)

Bring about 1 inch of water to a boil in a skillet large enough to hold the chicken in a single layer. Add chicken, reduce heat to a simmer and cook until chicken is done, about 15 minutes. Drain chicken; cut into 1/2-inch cubes.

In a medium stockpot, heat oil over medium heat. Add onion and garlic; saute until soft.

Stir in chili powder, oregano, tomatoes and their liquid, chicken broth and 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons water.

Stir together cornstarch and remaining 1/4 cup water; stir into stockpot. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 5 to 10 minutes, until broth is slightly thickened.

Stir in chiles, cheese, cilantro and cooked chicken. Stir until cheese melts, then let simmer for 10 minutes.
This was sooo yummy!!! We didn’t have any cooked chicken, and since my mom was already browning beef, I omitted the chicken breast. It was really tasty!!! I also fried up some tortilla strips to top the soup with, and they were a hit!!!!! What did ya’ll do for Cinco de Mayo?

Well, I have to go study now….hope you all have a wonderful day!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Joining a Gym Almost There!!!!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  May 6, 2011 at 6:54 am

    Glad you’re enjoying the new gym! How exciting πŸ™‚ And tortilla soup is a favorite of mine- can’t be beat! Have a great weekend now

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  May 6, 2011 at 11:25 am

      Thanks!
      We love tortilla soup, too!!!
      Hope you have an awesome weekend!

      Reply
  • 3. katshealthcorner  |  May 6, 2011 at 7:35 am

    I absolutely ADORE that you listen to Disney Songs too!! πŸ™‚ I love The Little Mermaid!!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. Maris (In Good Taste)  |  May 7, 2011 at 4:52 am

    The gym will get easier and easier for you! Have a wonderful weekend!

    Reply
  • 6. lindsay  |  May 7, 2011 at 11:36 am

    great recipe! and yes the gym will get better. Ease on into friend. have a great weekend!

    Reply
  • 7. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun  |  May 8, 2011 at 5:19 am

    Hey! Thanks for commenting on my guest post so I could come check out your blog!

    I’m with you on having to hop around cardio machines. I cannot hang out on one machine for more than 20 mins either! Yay for strength training. I really believe it does GREAT things for the body.

    Reply
  • 8. Lisa  |  May 8, 2011 at 6:10 pm

    I love that sore feeling πŸ™‚ Well, sort of!! It hurts in a good way!

    The tortilla soup looks awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


