Almost There!!!!

May 9, 2011 at 5:26 am 10 comments

Hey!!!! Hope you all had a great weekend! I did! Yesterday, my sister and I made mom a single serving cupcake for Mother’s Day!!!! Since we made it at breakfast time, we went with a plain cupcake, with brown sugar and cinnamon sprinkled both in the middle and on top! Like monkey bread, but in cake-y form. Mom liked it so much, and it smelled so good, that I had to make a normal-sized cake with the same flavors! Here’s the recipe I used:

Monkey Cake (original recipe found here)

Ingredients:

  • Topping:
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sifted all-purpose flour (sift before measuring)
  • 1/4 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • .
  • Cake:
  • 1 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour (sift before measuring)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preparation:

Topping. In small mixing bowl, combine topping ingredients. Blend with fork until crumbly. Set aside.

Sift 1 1/2 cups sifted flour with baking powder and salt into a bowl. In a medium bowl, beat together beaten egg and 3/4 cup sugar and 1/3 cup melted butter. Add milk and vanilla. Stir in flour mixture and mix well.

Pour batter into a greased and floured 8-inch square or 9-inch layer-cake pan. I poured in half of the batter, sprinkled it with some brown sugar and cinnamon (maybe 2-3 T each?), poured in the other half and sprinkled the topping crumb mixture evenly over the cake. Bake at 375° for 25 to 30 minutes, or until cake tests done. Partially cool in pan on wire rack. Cut coffee cake into squares while still warm.

This was so, so yummy!!!!!!!! I can’t wait to “healthify” it, so that we can enjoy it more often!!!

I absolutely loved having the opportunity to go to the gym last week and therefore I just had to take some sweaty post-workout pics in the bathroom! hahaha

If you didn’t already think that I was weird, I bet you do now. 😀

So, I cannot believe that I’ve only got this week and one more left of school!!!! I’ll officially be done with my sophomore year!!! whoo!

However, in order to finish my class, I actually have to study some, so I had better get goin’!

How did you celebrate Mother’s Day?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Ouch! More ADD Workouts

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. alex  |  May 9, 2011 at 5:38 am

    I like monkey cake! I have only had it once…I made it into muffins, my husband demolished them!!!!!

    Reply
    • 2. fitchocoholic  |  May 9, 2011 at 9:26 am

      We loved it!!! 😀 I’d probably make muffins next time because its easier than cutting up a cake…..I tend to destroy any cakes in the vicinity! hahaha

      Reply
  • 3. Erica  |  May 9, 2011 at 6:03 am

    Josh loves monkey bread and I’ve never made it! I even have a mold! I bet your Mom really appreciated the treat. Glad the gym is treating you well and congrats on the last week of school. We went to Savannah (as you saw)- such a great weekend 🙂

    Reply
    • 4. fitchocoholic  |  May 9, 2011 at 9:26 am

      hahaha We loved it!!!!
      Glad you had a great weekend!

      Reply
  • 5. lindsay  |  May 9, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    you are not weird, youre stinking cute!! I love monkey cake. So delicious. Happy last week of school!!

    Reply
  • 7. yummychunklet  |  May 9, 2011 at 7:19 pm

    Good luck with your last week of classes! Thanks for commenting on my blog. I’ve added yours to my Google Reader and look forward to reading your future posts.

    Reply
  • 9. Maris (In Good Taste)  |  May 10, 2011 at 3:04 am

    I am so impressed that you made monkey bread from scratch! What a lucky mom you have!

    Reply
    • 10. fitchocoholic  |  May 10, 2011 at 6:28 am

      Thanks! We all loved it!!! 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other followers

Archive


