The Truth About Fat

April 8, 2011 at 6:04 am 40 comments

Heeey everyone! Glad ya’ll liked my last post!!! 😀

Not much has been going on here….mostly just school. Last night mom made potato soup (yum) and I  made some rolls to go with it! The recipe is on my recipe page, and if you want quick, hard-to-mess-up rolls, then they are for you!! I did learn that actually letting them rise the full amount of time instead of rushing them really improves the flavor and texture, for some reason….hmm wonder why? 😛

I also tried a new 10 minute workout! Instead of my normal 10 minute jump rope, I did 10 minutes of cardio ballroom dance! It was off the Dance with Julianne Cardio Ballroom DVD, and I did the cha-cha! It was pretty fun! 😀

Anyway, by now ya’ll are probably wondering about the title of this post. Weeell, I have a little surprise for ya! Kathleen from Kat’s Health Corner wrote a guest post for this ol’ blog! Soo, without further ado, here it is:

Hello Fit Chocoholic readers!!! My name is Kathleen and I write this pretty sweet blog called Kat’s Health Corner. I love Gen’s Blog SO much! I am honored to be writing a guest post for Gen today, but FIRST let me introduce myself a little more!

I absolutely LOVE to workout, bake, AND especially blog. 

In my life one of the things I strive for is BALANCE: balance WITH myself, balance WITH life, and WITH the way I eat.

One vital part of the balance with the way I eat is making sure to eat a balance in nutrients. But, one of the hard nutrients I’ve had with balancing in my diet is Fat.

FAT. Yes, you heard that right. I said that F-word: Fat.

Fat has such a bad rap.

Some people predetermine the misconception that eating fat makes you fat. That is NOT necessarily true.

I know from personal experience the importance of fat in our body’s health and well being. A while back, I thought that FAT was EVIL, since that was what I would hear from the media, magazines, and ads. CUT THE FAT. Buy LOW FAT. Eat FAT FREE.

As a result, I started cutting fat out of my diet. My Hair, Skin, and Nails really paid the price for this. My hair lost its softness and glow and became dry and dull; my skin went from smooth and vibrant to rough and dry, and my nails lost their strength and became soft and bendy.

Not only did I see the changes in my hair, skin, and nails, but I noticed I had become significantly tired, moody, and weak. This was not good.

I came to the conclusion of what I needed to do.

I needed to develop a healthy relationship with fat.

Fat plays a HUGE role in our health. It is essential for the hormone processes in our body, the absorption of the vitamins A, D, E, and K. Fat is essential! Fat is essential to our hair, nails, and skin’s health and glow.

We know that fat is imperative, but does the type of fat matter?

Yes. The kinds of fat we eat matter, too. In all, there are four types of fat.

First, there are the mighty Monounsaturated fats, found in nuts, nut oils (like walnut oil), olives, olive oil, and avocados (this is not an exclusive list). One of my favorite sources of monounsaturated fat is ALMOND BUTTER!

Me and Almond Butter; LUV at first sight! 

Second, there are the powerful Polyunsaturated fats (foods high in polyunsaturated fats are rich in omega-3 fatty acids), like those found in sunflower seeds, hemp seeds, sesame seeds, fish, walnuts, brazil nuts, canola oil, and PEANUT BUTTER! (this is not an exclusive list)

Peanut Butter Love!  Straight from a spoon is the best way to eat it. 😉

Then, there are the Saturated fats, which come from plant sources (like coconut, coconut oil, and chocolate), and animal sources (like fatty- meats, egg-yolks, and full-fat dairy products). They are also found in many prepared foods. The USDA recommends that we limit our intake of Saturated fats in favor of the Mono- and Poly-unsaturated ones. But remember, Dark Chocolate IS good for you (in moderation of course)!

And finally, the terrible Trans fats. AVOID TRANS FATS LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!! They are chemically altered to where our body can’t recognize them as “real” and doesn’t know how to handle them, so our body just stores it in our hips and our stomach. In several studies, Trans Fats are shown to contribute to Alzheimer’s disease, Cancer, Diabetes, Obesity, Liver Dysfunction, Infertility, and Depression.

Don’t trust the Nutritional Labels – make sure to check the Ingredient Lists. Don’t buy anything with fully or partially hydrogenated oils in it – those are TRANS FATS!

We know why fat is important and what the types of fat are. Does the amount we eat make a difference?

Yes. Fat is essential for the hormone processes in our body, the absorption of some vitamins, and the health of our hair, skin and nails (not an exclusive list). Talk to a registered Dietician to see how much is appropriate for you, or check out mypyramid.gov to get a personalized plan. Everyone’s body is different, so therefore, we each need different amounts.

One thing I would stress is to focus on the Omega 3’s and 6’s.

These are the ones our body CANNOT produce. Some of the foods where these can be found include walnuts, flaxseed, avocados, eggs, salmon, sardines, and tuna. You can also use Fish Oil tablets (if you are not vegetarian), and they even have Vegan “Fish” Oil tablets, which contain the Omegas straight from the plants where fish get them from.

One of the most important things I have learned on my journey for balance is that every nutrient is imperative – calorie, FAT, carbohydrate, protein, water, vitamin, mineral, photochemical – to our overall health.

If I have an imbalance in just one of these nutrients, it wreaks havoc in my entire body. I now strive to feed my body the nutrients it needs—to live in balance—to live in balance with fat.

Kay, that’s it from me my lovelies- I love to meet new people, so be sure to drop by, check me out, and get to know the Kat behind Kat’s Health Corner!!

Questions of the Day (KHC Style!):

How do you view fat?
What are your favorite sources of fat?
What is your favorite nut butter?

Awesome post! Thanks Kat!!! 😀 I’ll go ahead and answer the questions.

1. Fat is definitely the nutrient that I have to work hardest to get, especially living here. There isn’t a lot of fried food, and minimal fat is used while cooking. Which just means that I get to eat lots of peanut butter. Not a bad thing. Especially if there is chocolate invloved.

2. My favorite sources of fat would be nut butter (shocking, huh?), avocado (which we almost never get because I’m the only one that likes them), fish (hello omega-3 fats) and nuts.

3. Favorite nut butter would have to be Dark Chocolate Dreams. I actually haven’t gotten around to trying either almond or cashew butter, but I plan to make both at some point. 😀

Thanks again, Kat, for the wonderful post!!!

Hope you all have a great day!!!!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

What Motivates Me? Finally Something to Blog About!

40 Comments Add your own

  • […] I’m blogging over @ Gen the Fit Chocoholic’s Blog on The Truth About FAT ! GO CHECK IT OUT!! You’ve gotta read […]

    Reply
  • 2. alex  |  April 8, 2011 at 8:02 am

    love this post 😀 Hope all is going well in BRAAAAZILLL, heard about the Rio ordeal…sad 😦

    Reply
    • 3. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Thanks! 😀 I think its awesome, too!
      It is sad, isn’t it? Still can’t believe it happened….

      Reply
  • 4. Erica  |  April 8, 2011 at 8:05 am

    Great guest post! I couldn’t agree more- fat has a badddd rep and we NEED it for our bodies to function properly. Nut butter is one of my favorite forms ;). Hope you both have a wonderful weekend

    Reply
    • 5. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Hope you have an awesome weekend as well! 😀

      Reply
  • 6. movesnmunchies  |  April 8, 2011 at 8:15 am

    i love fats!! i always eat like 30-35% of my cals from fats!! esp being vegan i eat so many!!

    im actually writing a guest post for somone on fats too! but not till May- great great info!

    Reply
    • 7. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      That’s so awesome! I’ll keep a look out for it next month! 😀

      Reply
  • 8. Jenny  |  April 8, 2011 at 9:12 am

    Pass me the pb please!! I try to get around 50g of fats a day and I enjoy every bite. People have a really bad relationship with fats and don’t understand the health benefits. Love the post 😀

    Reply
    • 9. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      Pb is seriously awesome!!! 😀 People who try to avoid fats are really missing out! haha 😀

      Reply
  • 10. Mandi  |  April 8, 2011 at 10:46 am

    I absolutely love fat! But I used to avoid it like the plague a while back thinking, like you mentioned, that fat would make me fat. I’m so glad I eventually realized how important it is to include in your diet. My favorite ways to get fat are nut butters (especially peanut butter, although I do love almond butter too), avocado, and fish.

    Reply
    • 11. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      I was the same way…..SO glad I decided to let nut butter back into my life….:P

      Reply
  • 12. Lisa  |  April 8, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Great fat info!
    I love fat—and I eat lots of good sources of it 🙂

    My fave is avocados, and I eat at least one everyday…

    Reply
    • 13. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      Kat did a great job on this post! 😀

      Reply
  • 14. lindsay  |  April 8, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    thanks Kath! i love my FAT!! Such a healthy and great post.

    Reply
    • 15. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:08 pm

      I really loved Kat’s post, too!

      Reply
  • 16. Kayla  |  April 8, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    Great post, Kathleen!

    Fat has always been the ONE thing I have never really worried about! I worry about sugar and calories, but fat, not so much.

    I eat lots of peanut butter, almonds and I love using olive oil when cooking! My favorite nut butter is peanut butter or sunbutter.

    Reply
    • 17. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      Its great that you don’t worry as much about fat! So many people (including me, sometimes) do!!!
      I really need to try sunbutter….it sounds so amazing! 😀

      Reply
  • 18. applesnoats  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    me and fat are great friends…hello nut butter 🙂
    my fav is probably Justins hazelnut

    Reply
    • 19. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      yuuum that nut butter sounds awesome! wish we had justins here…. =(

      Reply
  • 20. thehealthyapron  |  April 8, 2011 at 1:36 pm

    I am definitely one who used to fear fat (in high school). I bought everything low-fat! But now I know the importance of a little bit of healthy fats! Great post Kat!

    Reply
    • 21. fitchocoholic  |  April 8, 2011 at 3:22 pm

      I agree, Kat’s post was awesome!! 😀
      Hope you have a great weekend!

      Reply
  • 22. Tara  |  April 8, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    Fat is awesome! It’s so filling, but not a lot of food, so it’s perfect before running. My favorite fats are nuts, but my favorite nut is the macadamia nut or pecan. Avocados are also da bombskis. I could never choose a favorite nut butter though, that changes on a daily basis!

    Reply
    • 23. fitchocoholic  |  April 9, 2011 at 6:27 am

      You’re right about how filling fat is! 😀

      Reply
  • 24. Olivia  |  April 9, 2011 at 6:47 am

    omg almond butter is amazing, you will LOVE It! I totally love fats too, can’t go a meal without one:) pb just rocks!

    Reply
    • 25. fitchocoholic  |  April 9, 2011 at 10:10 am

      Love me some pb! Last night, I took it upon myself to finish off a huge jar of pb because my mom wanted the container! I probably ate at least 2-3 servings! hahaha 😀

      Reply
  • 26. moveovercelery  |  April 9, 2011 at 10:37 am

    I love me some healthy fats! Kat has such a great blog! 🙂

    Reply
  • 28. Maris (In Good Taste)  |  April 10, 2011 at 6:12 am

    What a great guest post! Love the cute pictures!

    Reply
    • 29. fitchocoholic  |  April 10, 2011 at 7:13 pm

      I’m so glad that Kat wrote this post for me!!! 😀

      Reply
  • 30. eatinglikeahorse  |  April 10, 2011 at 6:44 am

    Great post Kat! Really well put 🙂
    I try to stick to the healthy fats, like nuts, seeds, etc (and chocolate!) but avoid the nasties… I just had a hideous flashback to the grease in a KFC – yuk!
    Favourite nut butter has to be almond… or coconut… or peanut… 🙂

    Reply
    • 31. fitchocoholic  |  April 10, 2011 at 7:13 pm

      Chocolate is definitely a good source of fat, if you ask me….:P
      Oooh I NEED to try almond butter!!!!

      Reply
  • 32. Katherine: Unemployed  |  April 10, 2011 at 9:55 am

    I love fat in my stomach and not on it. I’m just going to be honest- hummus and guacamole are about 35% of my diet

    Reply
    • 33. fitchocoholic  |  April 10, 2011 at 7:14 pm

      hahaha same here! except for my main sources of fat are peanut butter and chocolate! 😛

      Reply
  • 34. paijery  |  April 10, 2011 at 10:37 am

    I am loving this post!! It’s so crazy what the media is capable of making us think is “healthy”! I loove avocados, nut butters, nuts and seeds! My fave nut butter is def pecan butter! 😀

    Reply
    • 35. fitchocoholic  |  April 10, 2011 at 7:15 pm

      I know, right? Now the media is telling us to avoid ALL fat whenever possible, when really, we NEED the healthy fats!!!!

      Reply
  • 36. The Teenage Taste  |  April 11, 2011 at 5:06 am

    Great post Kat! You are so informed!

    Reply
  • 37. Emily Elizabeth @ Kisses for Breakfast  |  April 11, 2011 at 10:40 am

    Awesome post! I really like how Kat went into so much detail about why fats are good for us. I agree, my skin has been so much less dry now that I’m not trying to make everything fat free like I used to.

    Here are my answers:
    How do you view fat? It is an essential part of a balanced diet. Personally it helps me feel full and satiated after a meal and probably makes up 40-50% of my diet.

    What are your favorite sources of fat? Avocado & Coconut

    What is your favorite nut butter? I’d love to say almond butter, but I think I may have digestive issues with almonds, so for now, peanut butter! 🙂

    Reply
    • 38. fitchocoholic  |  April 11, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      Great answers!!!!
      Thanks so much for your input! 😀

      Reply
  • 39. A Larabar That ISN’T A Larabar! « katshealthcorner  |  April 11, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    […] off, I would like to say thank you to Gen for posting my guest post yesterday. And THANK YOU to everyone who read it! You guys are seriously amazing! (if you missed […]

    Reply
  • 40. Kaila @healthyhelperblog!  |  April 12, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Love this Kat! Such a great informative post! I would say that fat is the hardest nutrient for me to get in….not that I avoid it but I think I need to get more omega 3’s and 6’s! My favorite sources are nut butter, peanut butter, bars, and avocado! YUM! Love me those healthy fats….thet make everything more delicious!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Join 6 other subscribers

Archive